2015 Grace Hopper Women in Computing Conference

2015 Grace Hopper Women in Computing Conference

I get overwhelmed when I think about my GHC experiences so I am going to continue to think about the content of this blog post.  For now, here are all the notes to the sessions and the livestreams of the incredible speakers!


Session Wiki Notes

Volunteer note takers and speakers from the sessions are in the process of updating the wiki with notes from the sessions they attended or spoke at.

Remember the note takers are volunteers and you can deep dive into the schedule to find the sessions you’re most interested in reading about…I recommend dedicating some time to just browse too!

Speaker Slides

The speakers are uploading their slides to Dropbox here.

Watch the Keynotes and Panel Discussions

Clara Shih (CEO and founder of Hearsay Social), Blake Irving (CEO and Board Director of GoDaddy) and Megan Smith (Chief Technology Officer, United States of America) will discuss changing the culture of tech through transformation at the individual, company and industry level. A Q&A will follow their individual presentations. #GHC15

  • Clara Shih Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/clara-shih/
  • Blake Irving Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/blake-irving/
  • Megan Smith Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/speakers/megan-smith/

Hilary Mason, Founder of Fast Forward Labs, kickstarts GHC 2015 with a rousing talk on inspiring women in tech. The Anita Borg Institute will also present the winner of the Technical Leadership ABIE Award, which recognizes a woman who inspires the community through outstanding technological contributions. #GHC15 #ABIEwinner

Sheryl Sandberg, Chief Operating Officer of Facebook, and Nora Denzel, Vice Chair of the Anita Borg Institute Board of Trustees, will discuss Lean In and other issues that are top for women in tech. The Anita Borg Institute will also present the winners the Social Impact ABIE Award. #GHC15 #ABIEwinners

  • Sheryl Sandberg Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/speakers/sheryl-sandberg/

Susan Wojcicki, CEO of YouTube, delivers the Thursday morning keynote and will be joined in conversation by journalist Moira Forbes. The Anita Borg Institute will also present the winners of the Grace Hopper Celebration Change Agent ABIE Awards. #GHC15 #ABIEwinner

Manuela M. Veloso, Herbert A. Simon University Professor in the Computer Science Department at Carnegie Mellon University, will deliver a technical keynote. The Anita Borg Institute will also present the winners of the A. Richard Newton Education ABIE Award and the Denise Denton Emerging Leader ABIE Award, #GHC15 #ABIEwinner

Janet George, Isis Anchalee and Miral Kotb will be speaking about the importance of diversity in the technological field. A performance by iLuminate will follow. #GHC15

  • Janet George Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/janet-George/
  • Isis Anchalee Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/isis-anchalee/
  • Miral Kotb Bio http://gracehopper.anitaborg.org/speakers-honorees/miral-kotb/

Additionally “The Cube” recorded interviews during Grace Hopper with some of the tech stars and those can be streamed here.

Leave a Reply